The Shack

My pastor once said in a sermon
“It’s harder to build a house in the middle of a storm.”
And me being the hard head I can be
Silently replied that
“We’ve all built a house or two in a storm. It really isn’t that hard.”

But upon close consideration
A little investigation
And a final re-evaluation
I’ve found that any home I’ve built in a storm
Has turned out to be a bit of a shack
That blew down when the wind drove the wood too hard east or west

When everything I’ve done was reactive
Instead of proactive
I’ve found myself caught in the rain

Leave a Reply

