Growing Up

I catch myself looking in the mirror
And telling myself how small I am in character
I feel most times that I am constantly living in the shadows of the giants around me
Sinking into the pitfalls that become of their footsteps
Shivering in the chill of their shade
Until I think back on how small I was before
I have moved from palm sized
To pocket sized
To fun sized
All things still a bit minuscule in nature
But I can feel the weight of it
In my smile and my laugh
My passion and compassion
At times I feel lean with disappointments and setbacks
Other times I am fat with joy and peace
So these days when I look at my reflection and consider my current size
I am grateful for even the small spurts of growth that I see

Leave a Reply

