The Refugee

Mr. Driver,

Can you hear me up there?

Tell me where is the next stop

Perhaps when you brake this time

I’ll pull the cord to get off

But when I hear the bus brakes screech

I realize I’m glued to my seat

And with no where to go

I make no attempt to rise to my feet.

I have no home

No family

I have no self

The refugee

Mr. Driver,

Where will you go next?

Are you going to the next town?

Maybe I can unhinge myself

When you start to slow down

All these faces that fill the spaces

They look over me

I’ve no reflection in the window

No characteristics of identity

Mr. Driver,

When you see that I’m still here

Will you be alarmed?

To think this late

This young

This unarmed

May possibly fall into harm

I need no weapon on my person

I fear not my safety

I have no rings or finer things

No cards and no money

I have no home

No family

I have no self

The refugee

Mr. Driver,

Is this the end of your shift?

Will you park the bus and just walk away?

To leave me sitting in the dark

Until the next driver’s next shift the next day

If I paid you another token, would you stay?

Maybe another fifty cents

Or go home with you to meet your wife

To be proud to be your kid

Mr. Driver,

I must say I hope you never stop driving

Even if we reach the ocean

I have no breath to lose, no life to drown

Too burdened to keep a float

Maybe I will coast right off the ends of the Earth

The ends we do not see

But no one in the world

Will wonder what ever became of me

I have no home

No family

I have no self

The refugee

Mr. Driver,

It is raining

The streetlights are starting to blur

They look like smudges of starry night

Bright dots in dark air

No, my eyes are the heavy clouds

And the drops fall down my cheeks

I hate to feel this vulnerable

Hate to look this weak

But I have no hopes

I have no dreams

I have a heart

That has no beat

I have brown eyes

That cannot see

I have no guidance

For my feet

I have no victory

And no defeat

And what I do have

Is nothing

I have no home

No family

I have no self

The refugee

Leave a Reply

